I’ve been trying out different ways to make a wet felted ruffle scarf using inspiration from these gorgeous autumnal colours all around in the trees. I had a fabulous day out – the most sunny day of the week – at Marks Tey Arboretum and Green Island Gardens with my mother. The colours, especially in the maples and acers, was just stunning but also the faded heads of hydrangea and the popping purples and cerise of the asters against a clear blue sky.

autumn inspiration from nature autumn-felt-ruffle-scarf-nature-leaves

autumnal felt ruffled scarves handmade blythwhimsies

This large one is more like a shawl than a scarf it came out really wide by the time I’d added all the multicoloured ruffle layers and the decoration in gold velvet, organza, dyed scrip and dyed silk leaves. The velvet didn’t felt in all that well so I spent a little time needle felting it once the scarf was dry. Some of the silk pieces worked really well whilst others didn’t which is a bit of a mystery but also one of the delights of nuno felting – you never can predict the results!

felt ruffle scarf layout

felt ruffle scarf detail 1 blythwhimsiesbelieve it or not these photos are of the same scarf, the colours just look so different – it really isn’t purple at all!

autumnal leaves felt ruffle scarf blythwhimsies

This one had a little accident in the tumble dryer – the package came apart and it had been tumbling around freely for about 10 minutes before I caught it. It hasn’t done too badly all things considered but the ruffles aren’t very even or pronounced. It’s the colours that I love most, from copper to yellow to rich russet-red.

felt ruffle scarf layoutautumnal leaves inspired felt ruffled scarf blythwhimsiesfelt ruffle scarf detail 2

This one has very cobwebby, lovely soft ruffles and a strong firm centre. I added quite a bit of mulberry silk to the ruffles so they shimmer. It’s definitely my favourite for the softness of the edges. For the central turquoise part, I really battled with some hand-painted wool that I’d bought from the Knitting and Stitching show. It was quite matted and wouldn’t come apart easily so I had to spend time teasing the fibres apart to get just a few wisps at a time. It has made me more determined to learn how to dye and paint my own wool as I just was drawn in by the colours. sky and berries autumnal felt ruffled scarf blythwhimsies felt ruffle scarf detail 3

I really worked the edges of this one to get them firmer and crisper looking and I love the mohair curly wool I used for the central decoration along with some carded sari silk fibres which just look so delicious in all their autumnal heathery colours – it just takes the plainness off the cream centre.berries and cream autumnal felt ruffle scarf blythwhimsiesfelt ruffle scarf detail 4

2 thoughts on “Autumnal Colour and Ruffled Scarves

  1. I love them all! And appreciate how you photographed them at different stages. And how soft and whispy the wool is before you felt it. Do you comb out the wool as you lay it out? Must be a tool for this?
    I am so inspired !

    Like

Would you like to share your thoughts?

