The Felt and Fibre Forum recently opened its 2nd Quarter challenge, which is to use up, recycle and repurpose those scraps and failed projects. I welcomed this challenge as I was feeling I wanted to create some more pictorial pieces rather than functional ones, and to experiment with some different techniques incorporating additional fibres and fabrics on top of the finished felt piece.

Some while ago now I blended up some wool and angelina fibres in shades of aqua, teal, pale green and blue. This was meant for a nuno felt project, but the silk scarf was too fine for most of the fibres to migrate through successfully. In the end I pulled off all the wool and stashed it.

2016-04-07 12.36.06

I then found a picture by NASA of the Venice Lagoon, and cropped out a small section to play with.

nasa venice2

The different shapes really appealed to me with the water flow then the regularised patches of man-formed fields and lastly the rigid box structures of buildings. I laid out some deep blue wool roving for the background, then cut and pulled sections of my failed nuno project wool and laid them out leaving ‘channels’ of the darker blue showing through. Then I added some pieces of green pre-felt for the land and some squares of brown sari silk to represent built up areas.

Once felted and dried, I extensively machine embroidered it highlighting the shapes of fluidity and regularity.

venice lagoon felt art handmade blythwhimsies 2016-04-10 11.43.57

Now to mount it on a slim canvas so it can be hung without the need for glass.

 

Would you like to share your thoughts?

