It’s been a while since I last posted to my blog, but I haven’t been completely inactive on the creative front. With the slightly warmer weather and lighter evenings, my thoughts have been turning towards summer colours.

Surprisingly, I hadn’t made the ubiquitous tea cosy yet, so I made up a template and set about making a couple. As always my idea is to make something beautiful and artistic that also has a practical function in the home.

To make sure they keep the tea really piping hot, I used 5+ layers of wool laid out quite thickly. The clouds are silk laps as I love the texture when felted. And the crashing waves use silk laps, white nepps and undyed curly locks to simulate the foam.

Being a bit short on energy these days I used an electric sander to rub them thoroughly before rolling them up. After 400 rolls (phew!) I popped them into the washing machine on a 30 degree wash with a towel to get them to shrink down.

I stitched on some pebbles, sea glass and shells which I’ve collected during my walks on the beach. I hope they will withstand some gentle washing. And I added some stem stitch to represent seaweed.

felted-tea-cosy-seaside-seashore-waves-shells-sea-glass-blythwhimsies-blyth-whimsies-2017-02-24-10

The floral summer meadow has hand-dyed yellow/orange scrim as well as gorgeous tussah silk fibres, which I then embroidered and added a sprinkling of french knots. The stems of the flowers are felted in wool and cotton blend yarns and the clouds are drifts of white silk laps.

felted-tea-cosy-handmade-wet-felted-flower-meadow-summer-flowers-floral-blue-skies-blyth-whimsies-blythwhimsies-etsy-2017-02-24-10

Next time I’ll remember to add a hanging loop as I think many people do hang up their tea cosies. I’m already looking forward to making some more, so I’m popping these into my Etsy shop in time for Mother’s Day.

 

Would you like to share your thoughts?

