There was a discussion on a felting forum recently about how to make good fastenings for wristwarmers. With winter coming up I decided to try out a few different designs and experiment with fastenings so that I could make a ‘one size fits all’ wristwarmer. My own hands and wrists are fairly large, so making wristwarmers is always a bit of a guessing game. My first pair ended up too small for me to try on. I’d made them reversible too, just because…….I can!
finished-side-two-reversible-felt-fingerless-mittens-wrist-warmers-blythwhimsies2015-10-18-15

They were also rather long and would possibly be problematic with coat or jacket sleeves.

So then I tried making flat felt pieces and fastening them with a short piece of elastic, so they could be slid on over the hands and still fit snugly around the wrist. The theme of dragons came in here as a fun magical twist.

I laid out a rectangle of red then black wool and on the top layer added a gorgeous blend of black wool with glistening angelina fibres. Red silk makes the dragon’s fire and adds a touch of dramatic colour. The dragons are cut from glistening semi-sheer fabric and appliqued onto the felt using machine stitching.

As you can see, these tended to gape a bit and let the draught in. I had sewn the elastic inside the felt wrap so it couldn’t be seen, but this was causing the problem So I unpicked it and re-sewed it on the outside which held them together much better.

dragon-gold-wrist-warmers-felt-blythwhimsies-elastic-outside2016-10-31-13

dragon-purple-wrist-warmers-felt-blythwhimsies2016-11-25-09

I made another pair using a two-tone red/green fabric and a final pair in delicious Cadbury purple.

Then I tried out the leaf design. Instead of laying out a rectangle of wool, I laid out a leaf shape. After adding decorative fibres and threads to hint at the leaf veins and felting them thoroughly, I stitched a small wooden button and a loop of narrow elastic onto the two points. Fastening them like this allows for a small amount of give as they are pulled over the hands, but keeps them nice and snug around the wrist. They are generally smaller than the dragons as well. I liked them so much I made several different colourways (but forgot to photograph them all before taking them to the shop)

leaf-wristwarmers-felt-handmade-wet-felted-wool-blythwhimsies-2016-11-25-09

 

 

 

 

Would you like to share your thoughts?

